Dec 9/Raspberry Jam

20131209-215944.jpg
I made a small batch of raspberry jam tonight. After learning the original method from The Pioneer Woman, I’ve experimented with my own recipes.

Today I strayed from my usual recipe a bit and wow, is it sweet! I prefer less sugar so you can really taste the fruit. Oh well! I’m planning on another fun recipe using the jam, so it will be used alright!

Here’s what I did to make about five-8 oz. jars of Raspberry (plus a little Strawberry) Jam:
1. Wash fruit (1 pt. both strawberries and raspberries) and hulled strawberries. In the meantime put jars in a large stockpot or canning pot and lids in a small pot. Fill both with water and bring to a simmer, preparing the jars and lids.
2. Bring fruit, pectin, a pat of butter (to reduce foaming), and juice from two lemons to a rapid boil. Mash and stir.
3. Add in 2 1/2 cups of white sugar (too much! In the past I’ve used about 2 parts fruit to 1 part sugar-or agave or honey) and returned to a rapid boil for 90 sec.
4. Take jars and lids out one at a time (a canning kit comes with very helpful tools for this step), fill with jam, and screw lid on hand-tight.
5. Process jars by placing back in stock pot, making sure they are covered with an inch or two of water. Bring to a rapid boil for 10+ min. Let sit in water for a few minutes, remove, and let rest.
6. Once you hear the lids “pop” they are fully prepared! Put some fabric or ribbon on the top and they make a yummy little present for any occasion. Enjoy!

